Tarbert Development Association

  • The Main Objective of Tarbert Development Association is to act as a focus and catalyst for community development on behalf of the community of Tarbert parish with a view to sustainably improve the economic, social and cultural wellbeing of the people of Tarbert in the County of Kerry.

    Tarbert Development Association Constitution


    The body also has the following subsidiary objectives:

    i. To liaise with other community groups, government bodies and other organisations to promote the beautification and improvement of Tarbert and the surrounding area;

    ii. To work with any person(s) or groups to promote the industrial, tourism and employment of Tarbert

    iii. To represent Tarbert in the national Tidy Towns Competition and such other community campaigns and competitions as the Committee may decide.

    iv. The promotion and safeguarding of our heritage and culture.

    v. The development of community spirit and pride.

    vi. The general improvement, enrichment and development of the natural environment

    vii. Enhancement of the appearance and ecology of Tarbert and surroundings.

    viii. The development, as far as is practicable, of whatever facilities are deemed necessary to cater for young and old.[/quote]


  • 2016 Tarbert Development Association Elected Officers

    Tarbert Development Association members include:
    Eileen Farrelly, Mary Bridgeman, John Mulvihill, Michael Carrig, Sean Finucane, Patrick Lynch, Jane O’Sullivan,
    Caroline McLoughlin, Michael Lanigan, Jerry O’Connell, John Langan & John Paul Collins

    How do I  join Tarbert Development Association (and is it looking for new members?)

    Yes, we’re always looking for new members.
    Simply turn up at the Bridewell at 8pm on the 1st Monday of the month (or the 2nd Monday if the 1st is a Bank Holiday weekend) – all are welcome.
    The more the merrier.

    How do I submit an idea or suggestion to Tarbert Development Association?

    Use the form at bottom of this page to get in touch, or else contact one of the members listed above.


Tarbert in the 1950’s, in line with much of rural Ireland at the time, was in serious decline. Unemployment was high, emigration was rampant and social deprivation was very much in the vocabulary. Tarbert Development Association (TDA) was founded in the 1950’s when a group of forward-looking local individuals got together to try and improve the village. The issues at the time were local – e.g. local government taxes. But, when the need arose, the Association was able to broaden its horizons. An article in the ‘The Statist’ in November 1957 prompted the newly formed Development Association to promote the notion of Tarbert and the Shannon Estuary as Europe’s answer to the ports of Hong Kong and Singapore!

The promotion and lobbying by that first Development Association – long before the plethora of Government reports of the early 1970’s focused attention on the attractions of the Shannon Estuary and led to the acquisition by the State of the Tarbert/Ballylongford Land bank.
The land bank itself has not as yet achieved its full potential in terms of attracting industry to site on the land but this will change in the coming years with the arrival of Shannon LNG. They propose to invest €500 million on a 280 acre site on the land bank which should make the remaining 300+ acres very attractive to other industrialists.

The Tarbert Development Association has continued down the years since and is now recognised by State and Local Government as a legitimate voice for the people of Tarbert parish.

The role of the Association is multi faceted, always striving to promote and assist the development of a sustainable, vibrant community and improve the quality of life of people living in Tarbert. TDA does this by working in partnership with Kerry County Council, Fas, Leader, Shannon Development, local elected members and other community groups.

© Copyright 2016 Tarbert Development Association
All Rights Reserved. All media on this site remain copyright of their respective owners.